DOSBox 0.74 Crusader Guide

Daisuke

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Hey guys, I've got dosbox (latest Version) and dfend, and i have a legitimate copy of crusader no remorse and no regret, i'm a huge fan of the games, i am having an issue with the emulation, i can get the game to run, but the sound on the FMV's are a little out of sync, ive got a AMD 2.7 GHZ Single Core processor, Vista Ultimate, 2 GB DDR2 and a 256 Geforce 8400 GS Nvidia Card, and i can get the sound to match up with the movie at about 9000 cycles, but the sound giltches like it overlaps the original sound, any help would be appreciated, if you need more info let me know ^_^


Regrads
Daisuke
 

Red Death

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Well, first of all, greetings from Argentina!

I faced No Remorse with the demo, many years ago, and now thanks to all of you I managed to finish both Remorse and Regret, easiest level.

Now I'm at Remorse's weekend warrior, and after formatting (or is it formating? sorry) my hard drive due to a change of motherboard, and installing DOSBox 0.73, I've one tiny problem: no videos are shown!

I tried to change fullresolution, windowresolution, the output, put the cycles on auto... everything. And still no videos.

I was able to watch all of them before changing de motherboard, and the dosbox.conf was the same.

Any idea of what should I change in the conf? I'm running it under Windows 7 -which, by the way, can take care perfectly of DOSBox except for the video problem-. The mounting is done trough Virtual CloneDrive.

Thanks to all of you!
 

Red Death

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Problem SOLVED.

Just run a reinstallation and videos were played.  :D

Thanks!!
 

Specialt1212

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Thanks for this great site and the tutorial it worked great!

I installed No Remorse and got it running, so far everything works fine (music, movies, gameplay) except I get the following error message when I press F1 (which should lead to the help menu)

Code:
Crusader: No Remorse
=======================
Halted File File\File.C, line 61.
Unable to create file. Error #2
=======================

C:\Crusader>
Any ideas how to fix this?

I'm using DOSBox 0.74 & I'm running this on Windows 7. I'm using my real copy of the game from the Crusader Collection. Any help would be appreciated.
 

compelx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Location
Dallas, Texas - United States
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Hello Specialt1212,

Can you give us the exact setup you have in DosBOX (mount commands you used, directories where data is, etc)? We will see if we can identify if perhaps something is missing or if its perhaps a permissions issue.
 

Specialt1212

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Sure,

DOSBox: 0.74
Windows: 7 (64 bit)

I created a folder in the root of the C Drive and called it Crusader. I then open DOSBox and typed the following commands

  Z:\>Mount c c:\
  Mounting c:\ is NOT recommended. Please mount a (sub)directory next time.
  Drive C is mounted as a local directory c:\

  Z:\>Mount g g:\ -t cdrom
  MSCDEX installed.
  Drive G is mounted as CDRom g:\

  Z:\>g:
  Install

Then the Crusader install menu comes up.

- I leave the default directory as is e.g. c:\Crusader
- I choose the full install option
- I select "Yes" for digital sound effects
- I select Sound Blaster AWE32 (because the Gravis Ultrasound & Ensoniq Soundscape don't seem to work) with the following options
 - 0x220 (port)
 - 5 (IRQ)
 - 5 (DMA)
 - Yes (I hear sound)
- I choose the Keyboard / Mouse Control Type
- I select "No" for Subtitles
- I select the "Large Video" option
- I press "continue with installation"
- It says Installation Complete so I press "Ok"

It brings me back to DOSBox and I type the following

  C:\Crusader>Crusader

And the Game starts like it normally would.

I can press F2 to get the options menu but if I press F1, it goes back to DOSBox and I get the following message

  Crusader: No Remorse
  =======================
  Halted File File\File.C, line 61.
  Unable to create file. Error #2
  =======================

  C:\Crusader>
 
OP
OP
Keenan

Keenan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Location
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

The problem is you're not mounting exactly where your CD-ROM is. For instance, if you copied the disc content to g:\noremorsecd, that needs to be the directory for the CD.

For reference sake, here is my DOSBox configuration file for No Remorse.

# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
#      fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
#      fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
#  fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#                    Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
#                    If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
#                    (output=surface does not!)
#          output: What video system to use for output.
#                  Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
#        autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
#      sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
#      waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
#        priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
#                    pause is only valid for the second entry.
#                  Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
#      mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
#    usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=true
fullresolution=1920x1080
windowresolution=original
output=openglnb
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
#  machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
#          Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
#  memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
#            This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
#            though few games might require a higher value.
#            There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=32

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
#    aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
#    scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#              If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
#            Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=true
scaler=none

[cpu]
#      core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
#            Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
#  cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.

#    cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#            Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
#            Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
#              'auto'          tries to guess what a game needs.
#                              It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
#              'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
#                              (Example: fixed 4000).
#              'max'          will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#           
#            Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
#  cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#  nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
#      rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
#            Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=50

[midi]
#    mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#            Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#            Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.

# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#              See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
#  sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
#          Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
#  sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#    irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#    dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
#    hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
#          Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
#  oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
#          Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
#          Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=5
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
#      gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#  gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
#          Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#  gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#          Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#  gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#          Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#  gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#          Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
#          there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#          the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
#          with Timidity should work fine.

gus=true
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
#    pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
#            Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
#              2axis (supports two joysticks),
#              4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
#              4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
#              fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
#              none disables joystick emulation.
#              auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
#              (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
#              Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
#        timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
#    autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
#      swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
#  buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
#          Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
#          Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#          parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
#          for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
#                          (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
#          for modem: listenport (optional).
#          for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
#                        transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
#          Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
#            xms: Enable XMS support.
#            ems: Enable EMS support.
#            umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=none

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
@ECHO OFF
mount D \"G:\GameStuff\IMAGES\remorse\\" -t cdrom
mount C \"G:\Games\DOS\Remorse\\"
C:
CRUSADER.EXE
exit
 

Specialt1212

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

The problem is you're not mounting exactly where your CD-ROM is. For instance, if you copied the disc content to g:\noremorsecd, that needs to be the directory for the CD.
I appreciate the help and I apologize about the confusion, but this is my first time using DOSBox and I'm not very familiar with DOS commands. The G drive is where the CD is at the C drive e.g. C:\Crusader is the install folder. I thought I mounted both of those prior to installation?

After everything is done in the installation menu, I checked the C:\Crusader folder and everything appeared to have installed correctly. I included a listing of everything in that folder.

C:\Crusader\
ASYLUM.DLL
AUTORUN.INF
CDROM.DAT
CRUSADER.CFG
CRUSADER.EXE
CRUSADER.ICO
desktop.ini
INSTALL.EXE
JOYTEST.EXE
MOD2AMF.EXE
README.TXT
UNIVBE.EXE

C:\Crusader\SAVEGAME\

C:\Crusader\SOUND\
SOUND.FLX

C:\Crusader\STATIC\
ANIM.DAT
COMBAT.DAT
DAMAGE.FLX
DIFF.PAL
DTABLE.FLX
FONTS.FLX
GAMEPAL.PAL
GLOB.FLX
GUMPS.FLX
MISC.PAL
MISC2.PAL
MOUSE.SHP
SHAPES.FLX
STAR.PAL
STUFF.DAT
TRIG.DAT
TYPEFLAG.DAT
WPNOVLAY.DAT
XFORMPAL.DAT

C:\Crusader\USECODE\
EUSECODE.FLX
OVERLOAD.DAT
UNKCOFF.DAT
UNKDS.DAT
 

Specialt1212

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

Ok that's really weird, if I try to play it from the original disc or a mounted .bin file I created using my disc I get that same error message

Code:
Crusader: No Remorse
=======================
Halted File File\File.C, line 61.
Unable to create file. Error #2
=======================

C:\Crusader>
However I was able to solve my problem by following the instructions provided by RainRaven which can be found 
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
. For some reason I have to dump the contents of the CD into a temp folder and mount that temp folder instead mounting the cd drive?

I'm not sure why but it works now.
 

Draygan

Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Re: DOSBox 0.73 Crusader Guide

No Remorse can be very finicky in Dosbox. Sometimes one installation will work with a mounted folder of the CD contents, but for another installation only a disc image will work.
 

kelpen

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2011
Keenan Weaver link said:
DOSBox 0.74 Crusader Guide

Welcome to the DOSBox 0.74 Crusader Guide. In this thread, I will list the steps on how to properly use DOSBox (
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
) to run both Crusader games at the optimal level.


Once downloaded, install it. If you get confused any time, just refer to the readme the installation provides.

  • Put in your No Remorse/No Regret CD.
  • Open DOS Box.
  • Type the following command (no quotations) ?mount c C:\[YOURCRUSADERDIRECTORY]?.
  • Type the following command (no quotations) ?mount [driveletter] [driveletter]:\ -t cdrom?.
  • Type (no quotations) \"[CDROMDRIVE]:\"
  • Type ?install? to install the game.
  • Follow the instructions.
  • Type the following command (no quotations) \"C:\".
  • Type the following without quotations \"Crusader\"or \"Regret\" to run the game.

Here is an example:
Mount c C:\Crusader
Mount d D:\ -t cdrom
D:
Install
C:
Crusader


If your game is slow, you should turn up/down the cycling (Turn up ? CTRL-F12, Turn Down ? CTRL-F11).

There's no need to do this every time to run Crusader.
You do not have permission to view link Log in or register now.
is a DOSBox frontend, allowing you to make icons on the desktop, so you can just click it to start the game with your defined settings!


Note: You may need to create a folder prior to installation, or it may come up with an error message saying there's not enough hard drive space.

If you have any questions, post here.
Trying to install game on vista but get error message "Halted file INSTALL.C, line 954" Please help!!!!!
 
Top Bottom